So, tomorrow I will be helping out with research for the Parenting Center in Ft Worth.. AND I AM SO EXCITED! That sounded really nerdy of me, but really, how many undergrads (especially in family studies) get to do research with their professors and put it on their resume?! Not many! In the program that I am in, many women are in it because they are already engaged and want to be a stay at home mom; these are the type of women that drive me crazy because they give our degree a bad name, like the MRS degree. Then, there are other women that picked the program because it sounded easy and fun. Lastly, there are a few of us who actually love the field of family studies and want to learn more about us.. I somehow ended up in that cluster ;)!

While at the Parenting Center, they told me and two of my best friends to bring lunch. Being the mother hen of the group and the person that loves to cook, I decided to bring lunch for all of us which will consist of pizza and Chocolate Chip Lava Muffins. I’ll give you a second and close your mouth and wipe the drool off of your keyboard.

Okay, so these little cutie pies are basically thick, hearty chocolate chip cookies stuffed with chocolate chips and then if you’re totally rebellious like me, you will top them with some ice cream.

Image

First, you will need to make a batch of chocolate chip cookie mix from your favorite recipe. I used the always-trusty Nestle chocolate chip cookie recipe from the back of their little bigs, but I quartered it so I would only make 3 muffins for us. You can also use store-bought cookie dough, but I think homemade is always worth it.

Image

Grease the lining of your muffin tin VERY well with oil or crisco so that these babies will just pop right on out. Fills the tins with about a tablespoon of dough and then drop in about a tablespoon of chips, trying to aim them towards the middle of the cookie dough

Image

Cover the chips with another tablespoon of dough, making sure that the chips stay in between all of that doughy goodness. Bake at 350 for 15-20 times, depending on how thick your muffins are. Wait until the muffins are completely cool and then you can pop them out of muffin tins, which should be fairly easy.

Image

So, so, so, so, so, so, so tempting!!! Am I right?

Image

If you want to be cool, like me, heat the cookies up in the microwave for 10 seconds and top them with yummy Blue Bell ice cream! Vanilla bean ice cream would also be out of this world, but I’m in Texas and Blue Bell was all I could find! HA!

Image

I wish I could relive this moment….

Image

Even cute little dogs come a-runnin’!!!

