So I feel like I’ve been so busy lately. Working, cleaning, working, sleeping, etc. I love sleep so much that I wake up as late as possible, so I never have time to make anything nutritious in the morning. I made this Quinoa Oatmeal on Sunday, so now I can have it throughout the week, without having to lose any sleep. My kind of food, right?!

I found this recipe from Thug Kitchen, but it called for steel cut oats. Um, $5 for a small canister of oats?! No thanks, I’ll save that when I absolutely need them. So I decided to make a recipe that didn’t make me go to the grocery store, because I’m lazy, ya know?

Image

Ingredients

3 c boiling water

1 tsp olive or coconut oil

1 c old-fashion oatmeal

1/2 c quinoa (I had quick-cooking, so that’s what I used)

Splash of milk

Toppings

Boil water in microwave or on a tea pot. In a saucepan, heat up oil and add oats. Stir oats around until they smell toasty, which takes about 2 minutes. Add in quinoa and water and turn up the heat, so mixture will come to a boil. This will not take long because the water is always hot, hot, hot! After it comes to a boil, turn down to simmer. Allow to simmer for 10 minutes or until most of the liquid has disappeared.

Top with your choice of milk and fruit, nuts, maple syrup, brown syrup, agave, peanut butter, etc. I chose strawberries and maple syrup with no milk, because I needed to get rid of strawberries and I’m in love with maple syrup. Ooh la la!

With love, from Texas!

