So I know that almost all of the recipes on this blog are Mexican food, but really I’m from deep south Texas and down here, we thrive off of Mexican food… and Whataburger.

These little babies are sometimes called taquitos but those are usually served as an appetizer and flautas are actually served as a meal. I love this dinner and would probably order it every time I went to a restaurant that offered them, but they’re almost always made with dark meat. I was raised in a white meat chicken family and I am too scared to try much else ;).

Chicken Flauta ingredients:

3-4 chicken breasts

2 c. shredded cheddar cheese

1 tbs. cumin

12 tortillas

Oil to fry tortillas

To make your yummy flautas(or flutes, in English), boil chicken breast and then shred the breasts after they have cooled so you don’t burn your little digits. Add a generous amount of picante sauce, which is usually chunkier than hot sauce, and a tablespoon of cumin.

Image

Sat the chicken mixture aside and heat up a pan of oil to fry corn tortillas in. Drop the tortillas in, one by one, and let them soften by frying them about 10 seconds on each side.

Image

Lay your tortillas out and fill them with a handful of shredded cheddar cheese and a spoonful of the chicken mixture. Roll those babies up and secure them with a toothpick.

Image

Lay the flautas side by side and bake them on a cookie sheet or baking pan at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes. You’ll know they’re done when the edges are crispy and crunchy.

Image

You can pair these with anything you would like, but my favorite thing to do is mix some refried beans and guacamole together and scoop them on the flauta after every bite :).

Image

I have just recently moved, so I had to use my fine paper plates to serve my dinner on. Classy, eh?!

With love, from Texas!

