When I go out to eat, I would rather not order appetizers. Not because I don’t like them.. Ha, who am I kidding?! I love any food. But I would rather fill up on savory foods, like entrees, and sweet foods, like desserts. With appetizers, it’s usually just savory and savory and I get BORED. There is an exception though.

Whenever I go to Chili’s, I love ordering their Southwestern Eggrolls. They’re crispy little things stuffed with chicken, black beans, corn, spinach and served along side a yummy helping of avocado ranch.

Last Saturday, I went over to my sister’s house for my nephew’s 2nd birthday party. He was having a fiesta-themed party, so I decided to recreate these eggrolls for la fiesta! I made them the night before and just popped them in the oven right before the party, so it didn’t take anyone’s time away from partying ;). Everyone raved about them though and I was really hoping I would have made more…. For myself!

Baked Southwestern Eggrolls Ingredients:

Can of black beans, rinsed and drained

Can of yellow corn, drained

Half red bell pepper

Can of chopped green chiles

4 green onions

2 c cheddar cheese

2 tsp salt

2 tsp pepper

1 tsp cumin

1 1/2 tsp chili powder

48 Wonton or 24 eggroll wrappers

Image

So, the original eggrolls call for a 10 oz package or thawed and squeese-dried frozen spinach, but my nephew is allergic to spinach so I replaced that with the bell peppers. First things first, slice the green onions and chop the red bell pepper to little pieces. Then, add all of the ingredients, sans wrappers, in a bowl and mix together.

Image

Looks so beautiful and fresh and vibrant, right?! I know.

Now, we’re going to make our eggrolls. I used won ton wrappers because that’s all my grocery store had, but you can use eggrolls also, just use more filling of course. First, lay your wrapper on a plate, dab your finger in water and run it along all sides of the wrapper. Next, put about a tablespoon of filling in the middle.

Image

Next, fold the bottom corner in so that it is on top of the filling and then pulling over the right side of the wrapper on top of the bottom. Seal the little edges if you see an opening.

Image

Now, repeat the other side of course and roll that baby on up!!! After you have finished rollin’, press the end so that it sticks and stays shut.

Image

Voila! Now you have learned how to roll an eggroll and you don’t have to waste all of your money at Panda Express.. ;).

Image

Spray the bottom of your cookie sheet with pam, lay your eggrolls down, and then spray the tops of the eggrolls with pam so that they crisp up. Bake for 12-15 minutes, turning the eggrolls one throughout the cooking process.

Image

You can serve these eggrolls with queso, salsa, guacamole, or make ranch dip like me with some mashed up avocados.

With love, from Texas!

